XLN Telecom Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for XLN Telecom.

Recent Customer Ratings for XLN Telecom

  • Satisfaction
    1.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars

Based on 100 customer ratings since 2019-07-02 (Show all time ratings)

Find alternatives to XLN Telecom   Compare broadband in your area

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

92 Customer Reviews for XLN Telecom

  • Showing page 1 of 3, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Absolutely gutted.I should have listened to my neighbours they warned me about poor speed and over charged but I didn't listen.On my final months of contract despite of closure due covid they still overcharged me and I spoke to them through phone and my email of circumstances
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ellesmere port XLN Telecom  
BEWARE OF THIS FIRM - I could write a book! The charges went from £29 at the start to £65. They sold me fibre (at a cost) by assuring me that it would be faster - it wasn't! I gave them a chance to come close to a new providers quote at the end of may contract but they couldn't until I instructed the switch at which point they jumped into action telling me (a) the new providers cost excluded VAT (wrong!) and (b) the new providers term was 2 years and not 18 months (wrong again). They came within 10% of the new providers cost but did not say it excluded VAT, by which time they had cancelled the transfer order from the new provider and I had to go through it all again. They invoiced me £299 charges for early termination and when I told them the contract was ended they told me it had actually ended 3 months ago but they had not told me and so I was paying the inflated rate unnecessarily. One of the operatives was not only rude but told me mistruths and misled me just as the fibre salesman had earlier misled me. Added to all this is that my new non-fibre broadband is way better that the XLN fibre broadband and it's less than half the cost. I strongly advise new customers to avoid XLN and ignore their devious misleading sales patter.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Leeds XLN Telecom  
I am not sure why they are bad reviews here. I have four business premises and use XLN for all locations. A number of my tenants do as well. Never had a problem, customer service is reached in only a few seconds. Low Cost and reliable and a good speed. Definitely worth using as a supplier, much better than the rest and i have tried them all.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Brighton XLN Telecom  
Unreliable drops off all day long over initial 14dys cooling period notified them and as they did not respond via an email as their website linked email has an error sent another from my own email with link email address. Finally replied especially as tried to bill two and half months and lest we forget dropping off all day long and only been a customer for 14dys and expected to pay this up front. Avoid as not honest and unreliable. Threatening with fees and this is against the credit consumer laws another badly informed level of customer care, and no apologies!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Liskeard Cornwall Uk XLN Telecom  
1 review
1 star: Bad
Just now
DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!!!
DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!!!!
After being in business for x 37 years I have to say this is my first ever review!!! That says it ALL!! My company has experienced the most awful experience with this company!
They could not provide us with the speed that they had Guaranteed and contracted to (LOW Speed BEING) 1.4Mbps!!!!! However we were in fact receiving average 0.9Mbps!!! We monitored and recorded on a daily basis.
Just how they expect a Business to operate with such LOW Speeds!!!
We notified them of our dilemma. They simply denied the facts!!
We had no option but to purchase x 2 mobile dongles and rent an alternative premises in order to conduct our Business!!

We discovered that we were able to receive Fibre, however XLN were unable to provide the service but BT were able to.
We had no alternative but to exit the contract. Although they could Clearly NOT provide an adequate service they are charging my company £398!!!!!!!!!!
Black Mail
They then came up with a resolution.
As we have x 2 premises independently managed . After the manager from the other site had also encountered the stress factor when having to work at the sister site she also decided to find an alternative supplier. This site was NOT in contract.
XLN stated that if the service was retained at the one site they would waiver the exit fees at the site to which they incompetently were unable to provide the service contracted to!!!
We have complied a full report to which the complaint is being currently being dealt with by Off Com
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Worcestershire XLN Telecom  
DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY THEY DO NOT LIVE UP TO WHAT THEY STATE. WE WERE PROMISED A MINIUM DOWNLOAD SPEED OF 1.5 WE WERE ONLY RECEIVING 0.5-1.0 AFTER CONSTANT INFORMING THEM ALL TO AVAIL. OTHER COMPANIES ARE ABLE TO SUPPLY FAR BETTER SERVICES. WE WERE PAYING £113 FOR SUCH A POOR SERVICE. WHEN TRIED TO LEGALLY EXIT THEY HAVE NOW CHARGED IN EXCESS OF £400!! BT ARE PROVIDING US FIBRE FOR ONLY £39.99!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
B487HJ XLN Telecom  
The first time I called XLN, I spoke to Lily for 64 minutes. Lily is great, she provided the type of customer service that any person would envy. When I asked Lily about my overpayments and why, she provided information in great detail. She backed up the company she works for in full and I respect that. But I found it funny when I asked her where exactly I was notified about termination instructions and reason for overpayments. She kindly put me on hold for long periods of time to dig out information that would provide me correct answers. Trained staff should not need to spend 10-15 minutes a time to find out where information is hidden to customers.

XLN has a unique way to fraud customers. When my contract was due to finish in October 2020, I was not able to immediately terminate my contract and now I am forced to pay large, additional fees.

They do not send clear emails, letters or messages outlining instructions when your contract is up- instead, it is hidden inside invoices in small and unreadable text.

Constant contract changes: Mid-way through my contract, they decided to add a "Business Assurance" fee which I was forced to pay. Later, they decided to increase this sum by £1, secretly hidden inside a random invoice and in small print. It may not sound like a great deal but if they reportedly have 400,000 paying customers then this immediately equates to £400,000 extra every month without clear and proper notice to their customers.

Christian Nellemann established XLN for small businesses because he knew: while busy people spend their time working hard to build and grow, they will spend less time reading the small prints of contracts. And this is how he managed to make 50-100 Million of revenue in the year 2014. Thief.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester XLN Telecom  
Had broadband with them in two separate locations and both were appalling. Connection has been dreadful in both. In one location they charged us twice £100 for an engineer to come and fix the problem, both times they were not able to. We left mid way through the contract and fully disputed the lumpy early leaving charge as they were in breach of the contract. The second site we are trying to leave now the contract has ended - the connection was so bad, we phoned to complain and they said they could improve the connection for an additional £10 per month charge!!!!! We were already paying £60 for month (this wasn't super fast or fibre connection, just bog standard). I've now said we're leaving as we can get it through Sky for £25, and lo and behold they're now offering us the faster internet for £24.99 per month - go figure. They would have to pay me £24.99 per month for me to want to stay with them - DREADFUL in every sense of the word.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London XLN Telecom  
One of the worst telecom company i've dealt with, mislead and a deceived my elderly parents on a contract. I have then gone on to cancel the contract based on the representative giving false promises and information. They now want £400 for a cancellation fee !. A complete joke!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London XLN Telecom  
We have been with XLN FOR 3 Years always had problems but this last year has been really bad, They are less than interested when you complain then try to offer you a faster broadband if you sign up for longer, Cant wait to 13th December when we can finally get a decent provider and say good bye to the nightmare of XLN
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Chesterfield XLN Telecom  
Poor service , without broadband for nigh on two weeks , no sense of urgency from XLN, my business is losing customer every day , would not recommend, they say that BT Openreach is in charge of network, BT say that its XLN's problem , don't go anywhere near them
Teesside XLN Telecom  
I echo everyone,s comments. They and other phone companies can get away this sort of thing as ofcom do not deal with individual complaints as I have recently discovered.Been slapped with an extra £5 a month for business protection to which I never had chance to respond to
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
cumbria XLN Telecom  
ALL WHAT EVERY CUSTOMER HAS SAID I HAVE GONE THROUGH THIS WEEK 16.10.2020.

It’s true they lure you in with cheap prices, the bill was x3 more! They don’t take no for an answer!!!! When then you call then to fix this they pass the buck!!! They chucked me under the bus! I only went live on the line on 03.10.2020. I will now Have to cancel This contract and have no choice but to pay a considerable amount to get them off my back.... these people are SCAMMERS. THEY NEED TO BE STOP!!!!!
Hayes XLN Telecom  
To anyone who thinks your package is the price they tell you , don’t use them. You will find you have loads of extras, like £4.95 per month I case you have a fault on the line, in which case you will be charged£175 for a call out plus extra for every hour there working on your fault. Public WiFi is a extra £6.95 er mth. Don’t use them if you have any sense.
Wednesbury XLN Telecom  
constant mid term price increases -been told cannot have line and broadband only as don't need phone calls. tried to leave was sent bullying letters with huge fines in bold, scare tactics. ten or fifteen phone calls trying to get me to stay. offered me reduced price to try and keep me but refused to confirm price would not go up during the term of the agreement. Even tried to badmouth the new provider I am going with. Absolutely disgraceful. That said, during the term the fibre speeds were good. Been with them about 6 years.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Hadleigh XLN Telecom  
what can i say that every review hasnt said already . i cant believe that this company can still be able to continue trading . i tryed to leave but was told ill be charged a hefty amount and when i agreed to stay . they re started my contract which i only found out about 10 months later and by accident . so my contract that was originally 24 months has ended up about 34 months . crap service crap speeds crap crap crap oh and crap company
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
gravesend XLN Telecom  
I wish there was an option for no stars.

As others have mentioned, try leaving this company and they make it very, very difficult.

I called over a month before my contract was due to expire. When I asked how much notice I needed to give - it looked like a month from their T&Cs- they were very, very cagey. I gave notice that day that I didn't want to renew. And they confirmed receiept of this instruction.

Very, very long story short, they put a 'cease' on the line claiming I had cancelled the contract (I hadn't, I just didn't want it to renew); they continued to deny that they were impeding the new supplier from taking over; they insisted they had lifted the 'cease'; the new provider couldn't take over; they continued charging me for a service that I didn't want; they sent intimidating letters/e-mails to me; made threatening automated calls in the evening; they threatened debt collectors and to top it all, the Ombudsman found in their favour (all due to semantics). XLN owe me for double-charging me two years ago - they entered me into a new contract because I wanted to change the contact details on my account. Hideous, awful company. I fought and fought this but,having spent 30 hours compiling documents to prove my case and it eventually affecting my health, I paid up the money they were demanding because I just couldn't take any more.

They are without doubt the worst company I have had the misfortune to deal with.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
North West Essex XLN Telecom  
friends, listen carefully. this company had contacted my son before his business was even open for trading & it is his first business. someone handed my son's number to this company, everyday a lady who cannot take no for an answer was contacting my son. even though we told her that we do not have a business account open as of yet we will contact you when we are ready. she still didn't understand and was constantly contacting us. she called my son the next day and mentioned that she would offer 3 months for free on the contract & there after it would be £28.95 incl VAT per month. we then had agreed to this contract. after one month we received a bill of £96.00 after asking why we received this bill, we were told that this is what had to be paid.
we stated that our contract agreement was 18 months with a 3 month for free at the start & would be £28.95 per month incl VAT. we were then told that we were lying about what we agreed to, i had spent 5 months trying to negotiate with this company to come to an agreement, i also wanted everything to be done via email for proof of record but they wouldn't even send me any, the only emails i received were bills.
after spending 5 months of time, stress & headache with this company it escalated to the company cancelling my contract without my permission, blocking my line & sending me a charge of £567.16
i had made the payment, bare in mind that i hadnt even used any internet from there router since it had arrived.

i am begging you all to please avoid this company at all costs, let your friends know, let your family know, this doesnt happen to justg one person, it happens to so many people, this company is crooked.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
maidstone XLN Telecom  
I was contacted by XLN in February 2020, I have no idea where they got my number from. The salesperson (her name was Chelsea) she was contacting me constantly & harassing me. She knew I had no interest in making a contract because I didn’t have a business banking account set up due to COVID-19. She offered me 3 months free of charge. When I agreed to this she immediately placed the order for the router to be sent to me without taking any account details. 3 weeks after receiving the router I had received a bill of £90 (the agreement over the phone was £28.95 incl VAT) when I told them that they were in breach of the contract by refusing to offer me the 3 months for free they told me I was lying about the offer. I had then contacted the ombudsman which also was of no help whatsoever. XLN has cancelled my contract & blocked my line without my permission & have been sending me bills in excess of £500. £500.00 for a router I’ve only had for 5 months is ridiculous (note that this router has not even been plugged in for use yet due to the lockdown)
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Maidstone XLN Telecom  
I was constantly being contacted my XLN throughout February 2020 and was pressured into making a contract with them. I was told my contract would be £28.95 per month including VAT I was also promised 3 months free of charge this wasn't provided either. Keep away from XLN at all costs.
  • Speed
    2 stars
Maidstone XLN Telecom  
AVOID THIS SCAMMER The company should not get even 1 star. AVOID THEM. They told you one price when you sign the contract but the invoice comeS double price. The customer service is so rude and not helping at all by blaming customer for not taking Responsibility for it. When you have a problem with the land line, you need to call them thousands times And ask you to do on your own plugging before they will send the engineer down. AVOID THEM
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Eastbourne XLN Telecom  
Avoid, Avoid, Avoid at any cost, its a rip off company, not having internet for 2 weeks, and when I wanted to cancel the service, they are asking me cancellation fees.
Better stay with BT or Virgin for the price they have charged me when the intiall charge told me on the phone was 16.99 pcm and in 3 months' time, the bill went up to £50 witn unwanted addons which was never mentioned to me over the phone.
Avoid Avoid Avoid this scammers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cheltenham XLN Telecom  
KEEP AWAY !! XLN WILL RIP YOU OFF !!.

My contract started with £34.99 a month then they started increasing the price every month more and more, ended up paying £71.99!! Only to receive phone the calls.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester XLN Telecom  
They've never heard of usenet
or binaries groups
also very slow
Birmingham XLN Telecom  
Drop out is constant. They ‘sublease’ the line from TalkTalk which had I known, I probably would not have moved over to XLN however their help team is always available - even at weekends. The problem is specifically the drop out rate - the perfect good 80 ambit signal can go from 75Mb to less than 5Mbits instantly for anything from 30 secs to over 30 mins. Sometimes restarting the router helps.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Milton, Banbury XLN Telecom  
Tired to change Internet provider they cancelled it without my knowledge and said im sticking with them news to me. Saying loads of crap and threats. They will be hearing from my solicitor in due course
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scarborough XLN Telecom  
Stay away from this company, (xln),they are money greedy and will suck you in with low price,then after 4 x months they ramp the price right up,look at the bad reviews ,it's all about the horrendous prices they start adding , the customer service once your a customer is non existent,once they have your money they don't want to know you. Awful company and awful people.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Blaydon-on-Tyne XLN Telecom  
After months of waiting, we still haven’t had our issue resolved, so we have taken the plunge to move to a new provider and guess what?! XLN have the cheek to send us invoices and claim we are still in contract, I’ve never signed or verbally agreed new contracts, yes you guessed it they can’t produce any evidence to say so, this will now be court action.
Please don’t use this company if you value yours.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scotland XLN Telecom  
Where do I even start, I am a multi site operator. We have XLN “fibre” in both sites. I use the word fibre very loosely, we have download speeds of 2.4 and frequent outages. Our latest site with XLN has been the worst in 4 weeks we have contacted them about fault equipment, poor customer service, incorrect billing and most importantly 5 incidents of “red” service for over 2 hours each time. Currently down now and have been for 2.5 hours. The WiFi signal strength in general with XLN isn’t capable of reaching a second floor in any of our premises, we eventually had to install TP LINK boosters just to power it to reach through.

Customer WiFi is pointless when customers select the WiFi it doesn’t even load the sign up / sign in page, I’d probably look at using The Cloud or someone with a higher reputation.

Our latest site had an existing router which XLN told us was capable of Fibre and have billed me for fibre since opening to only find out last week the router wasn’t capable and we have been getting a substandard service. (No offer of a refund.)
With the “fibre” WiFi issues xln do not guarantee the speed or quality of the WiFi only cabled connections (might as well have dialup it’s the 21st century XLN catch-up).
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Inkersall XLN Telecom  
Dont try to leave the contract early for what ever reason.The rep said I just had to phone them up if we ceased trading which we have because of the virus shutdown. Want all kinds of documents otherwise will apply horrendous charges to the account for termination.Also they love to hike up the cost for unwanted insurance which you have to opt out of even though you never asked for it.
Never ever use them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Hay on Wye XLN Telecom  
Price rise of 33% + vat after twelve months , apparently I dint see their notice, do not use XLN
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester XLN Telecom  
Wow. These guys are terrible. They’ll double your contract price within months and think it’s acceptable. I would never advise anyone to use XLN, con artists. Got out of contract early because of their price rises. Avoid avoid avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Tamworth XLN Telecom  
Absolutely shocking service, havent received one day of constant connection since sep 2019
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester XLN Telecom  
XLN - RUBBISH broadband, bad telephone line and even bad service. Threaten customer to stay or will cancel the tel line. Disgusting!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Devon XLN Telecom  
XLN provide a very rubbish signal on broadband, try to switch over to other provider, XLN threaten will cut the line etc..WTF. Line and signal so bad, got disconnet to internet every day, phone line cut off itself (sometimes), this service, and advisor also very bad attitude, this XLN company should not appear at all. If XLN keep calling me I will complaint to OFCOM. What a **** company (XLN)
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
south molton XLN Telecom  
Avoid them. They only care about your money. I found it a lot cheaper than XLN.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kingston upon Thames XLN Telecom  
My broadband is not working I called him the customer service he find Fault on outside not inside the property he tall me engineer going to come third of February which is take five days how do I do the business all the credit and debit card it won’t work without Internet so I explained to him he say this is the way they working More than 70% of people using the card so I am going to lose all my sales I don’t think so they give me a good service I think it’s a customer service very bad
Bebington XLN Telecom  
Avoid this company at all cost. It was trouble from the start with agreements not being honoured. Then during the contract they twice (so far) tried to up the package costs with unwanted 'extra' services or 'insurance'. Luckily I'm on a 12 mth contract with only 5 more months to go. Will be glad to see the back of them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wells XLN Telecom  
In the the beginning xln is very helpful & supportive but wait what happens after 6 months.
I signed 2 years contract & my bill went up from £22 to £27 according to contract which is fine then instead going up to £32 on the 12th month xln changed to £58 without my consent. When I called xln told me that they have sent me emails to confirm this, i had never received any emails. Then the lady tells me that was the best deal they put me on & it's too late to change it back, the only way she can give me a discount if I switch my card machine & mobile to them then I will be entitle to discount. I told her, first she has to fix my tariff then I will consider switching my other services. From here her attitude started to change & very firm & raised her voice.
Xln is a RIP off, they are just after your money. I have about 6 months of my contract left then I will cancel it. In the beginning I was considering to switch 2 card payment machines & 5 mobile numbers & now I am glad I didn't switch.
At the end of the day you end up paying the same as BT or big companies plus you have to deal with all the hassle. STAY AWAY FROM XLN
Sandwell XLN Telecom  
Doubled the price twice over 2 year contract. Xln do it by sending notification on the account but without sending email about or without sending email about notification.
The contract ended on the 19th December. I've sent cancellation in September - they've agreed. And now despite several phone calls to confirm the cancellation XLN just before the end date and still now is bombarding my email box, private phone number and letter box with threats about penalty of minimum £299 for leaving.
Avoid if you'd like a normal service without all the hassle from the company that want's to keep you as a hostage to pay inflated bill.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Blackpool XLN Telecom  

Loading...

  • 92 reviews, showing page 1 of 3, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

XLN Telecom are not affiliated with Broadband.co.uk. This page does not constitute any affiliation between Broadband.co.uk and XLN Telecom.

Broadband.co.uk